Rootham Piano Work Returns

Cyril Rootham’s only work for the piano, the Suite Op.88 has been released today in the first print edition.

A substantial four movement work of Grade 7 standard and above this was the only contribution by Rootham to the piano repertoire. Full of expressive harmonies, melodies that linger and technical challenges to stretch the player the shifting time signatures and tonal side slips make this a delightful work to explore.

The Great British Viola Project - Doncaster 16th January

We are delighted that our publication In The Lake Country Op.73 by Cyril Rootham is being performed in a lunchtime recital of light works for viola and piano by LMP s good friend Emma Sheppard (viola) and pianist Julian Jacobson. There are also works by Eric Coates, Lionel Tertis, Robin Milford, Gavin Sutherland and Julian Jacobson.

Cyril Roothams grandson Dan Rootham will be in attendance at what promises to be a delight for all lovers of English chamber works. This recital takes place at Priory Place Methodist Church, 20-26 Printing Office St, Doncaster DN1 1TR at 1 p.m. and is part of the the Doncaster Arts and Museum Society concert series.

Reviving HC Stewart

London Music Press is delighted to have reached an agreement that will see the surviving unpublished works by HC Stewart (1868-1942) thanks to the work of Emma Sheppard of the Great British Viola project and Stewart scholar Simon Lawford.

 Best remembered for his setting of On This Day, the new findings consist of chamber, string and choral music sure to be of interest to enthusiasts of English music. 


An alumnus of Magdalen College, Oxford  Stewart was a multi faceted character. Composer, organist, conductor, professional cricketer (Surrey CCC) and school teacher Stewarts work embodies a distinctly English feel with a restless enthusiasm for new harmonies that explore chromaticism, jazz and bi-tonality while remaining firmly rooted in diatonicism.


The Robin Milford Trust Edition

A new landmark series for English Music


In partnership with the Robin Milford Trust we are delighted to announce the first official edition of a number of Milfords out of print or lost works. Available to buy or hire in print as well as new digital editions works will include the first ever published version of the First Symphony (pictured above) and his most popular works In the Darkling Thrush and Fishing by Moonlight. Alongside these works will be a selection of his works for piano and other solo instruments.

 It is a great delight to be able to bring these wonderful works back to the musical world and we look forward to many years of exploring this rich vein of music.

In The Lake Country

We are delighted that the first new edition of In The Lake Country by Cyril Rootham in over half a century is now available for pre order.

This late English Romantic features soaring melodies in the upper register and expressive harmonies characteristic of the composer. Although the original requires a player confident in the upper octave of the cello a revised part for use by players of approximately Grade 7 is also included.


In the Lake Country

We are delighted to announce that we will be releasing a new edition of Cyril Rootham's 1924 work  In the Lake Country Op. 73 in late spring 2018.

Drawn from the only known surviving copy in print this edition will return the Cello version of this long lost work to the repertoire with both the original solo part and an edited version making the work accessible for the intermediate player. The violin and viola versions will follow in due course.

We are indebted to Dan Rootham and the estate for allowing us access to the original materials for this work. 



For more information on the work and life of Cyril Rootham see the official website at

The Complete Organ Works of Cyril Rootham

We are delighted that we have reached an agreement with the estate of Cyril Rootham to publish the first ever complete edition of the composers works for pipe organ. We are privileged to be able to work from the original manuscripts and this new edition will feature the four major works and one transcription he wrote for the instrument. With notes on the life of the composer and on the performance of the pieces this collection will hopefully stand as the definitive edition of Rootham's works for his own instrument.

For more information on Rootham see